Riverwind Foundation Selected for Tourism for Tomorrow Award

The five winners of the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC)’s annual awards for the best in sustainable tourism have been announced at their 2018 Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina.  Attending the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards was the Riverwind Foundation from Jackson Hole.  The Riverwind Foundation did not win the top award, but were in the top three Destination finalists and top 15 finalists across five award categories out of 177 entries from 63 countries.  They were the only finalist from the USA in any category.  The winner of the top sustainable destination Tourism for Tomorrow Award was the Thompson – Okanagan Tourism Association in British Columbia.

Riverwind Foundation Executive Director Tim O’Donoghue stated, “Jackson Hole’s selection as a Finalist for WTTC’s Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is perhaps the most significant indication yet that our community is on the right track toward realizing our vision to be a world-leading sustainable community and destination.  While we have made significant progress, we have a lot of promising work to do still including the development of a sustainable destination action plan for addressing the impacts of our increasing visitors. Recognition from the WTTC as well as from National Geographic and Green Destinations helps to further catalyze our community’s sustainability efforts. This recognition would not have been possible without the USDA Office of Rural Development, Jackson Hole Travel & Tourism Board and the lodging tax, and the many individuals, businesses, and organizations who support our community’s environmental, social, and economic sustainability.”

Gloria Guevara, President & CEO of WTTC said: “Sustainable growth is one of the sector’s most pressing challenges and a strategic priority for WTTC. The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards showcase the very best examples of how our sector is addressing this challenge, and contributing in a positive way to the sustainable development goals and a better world for all. I congratulate all the finalists who are playing such a significant role in ensuring the future sustainability of Travel & Tourism, and encourage the whole sector to learn from their best practice.

Posted on June 22, 2018.
Posted in Blog. .
Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.